CITY OF COVINGTON
Virginia law allows a 60 day grace period for new residents before you must obtain a Virginia drivers license.
Virginia law allows a 30 day grace period for new residents before you must obtain Virginia registration.
Virginia law requires that any vehicle registered in Virginia must be inspected.
Proof of insurance or financial responsibility is required for each vehicle registered in Virginia.
Covington Vehicle Decals:
Vehicles registered or garaged in Covington will be assessed by the Commissioner of Revenue. The City no longer issues vehicle decals however the license fee is included in personal property tax bills.
If given a conditional offer of employment, applicants may be required to take a physical examination with drug testing, psychological fitness testing, firearms testing (with training if required) and complete a sixteen (16) week basic police academy.